The Carman Clan

navigating life one day at a time

Working out

Keeping up my workout routine has been tough. Since the wedding in March my motivation to run has been lacking. It could be the lack of group training, the fact I hate running in my neighborhood or on the treadmill or that I just wanted to sleep. I tried Insanity for about 4 weeks until my knee couldn’t handle all the jumping. Why? I have no medial meniscus in my right knee. After surgeries in 1996, 2001 and 2002 there is nothing left. Once a doctor told me not to run when I went in with pain. For me that wasn’t a solution. Instead I started taking glucosamine chondroitin again. It works wonders and has allowed me to train for and run a half marathon with little knee pain. Actually I had more problems with my butt muscle and IT band, from all the inactivity my leg got in the past.

At the finish with my training buddy Alexis!

In May I began training for a 10 mile run taking place in NJ and planned my annual trip home for that weekend. I still did short runs and was building back up my long distance. Everything was mapped out in my google calendar. Then I found out I was pregnant. When I found out I was pregnant I tried to continue to workout. It was rough, and my workouts waned to 1 or 2x a week if I was lucky and not sick. Luck for me I didn’t gain weight, but considering I had put on 5 pounds since March I was relieved. Oddly 4 was during Insanity! Now I am trying to get back into my workouts, running is out because my HR jumps too fast and I have to go at a really slow pace. Plus I can’t take my glucosamine chondroitin since the doctor says they don’t know the effects on the baby. I don’t want my kid born with crazy deformed joints or anything. So instead I am back to focusing on lifting at least 2 times a week, and spinning at least one time. Other than that I try to use the elliptical, walk the dogs, and hopefully I will start aqua fit soon. I tend to workout first thing in the morning, but lately I drag out of bed. Once I get moving its not too bad. But it amazes me when people say, you don’t need to workout there’s plenty of time for that later.  My answer is always, there is plenty of time for it now!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

